Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

June 7, 2010

This Week's Interesting Music Releases - June 8, 2010

The Disintegration box set hits stores tomorrow, a 3-CD remastered edition of the Cure's 1989 album. The bonus discs include a 1989 Wembley Arena show as well as a collection of Robert Smith's home demos.

Other reissues out this week include a handful of Cheap Trick albums, most with bonus tracks.

New indie rock releases are plentiful this week. I am already enjoying (and can strongly recommend) Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti's Before Today, Blitzen Trapper's Destroyer of the Void, Delta Spirit's History From Below, The Henry Clay People's Somewhere on the Golden Coast, Olafur Arnalds' & They Have Escaped the Weight of Darkness, and Tender Forever's No Snare.

Kristin Hersh's new live album, Cats & Mice, made the perfect soundtrack while I read her new memoir, Rat Girl.

What new releases are you picking up this week? Have I left anything noteworthy off the list?

This week's interesting CD releases:

Against Me!: White Crosses (CD with bonus tracks) (vinyl)
Alex Cuba: Alex Cuba
AM Taxi: We Don't Stand a Chance (vinyl)
Anathema: We're Here Because We're Here
Andy Bell: Non-Stop
Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti: Before Today
The Belles: Time Flies When You're Losing Your Mind
Blitzen Trapper: Destroyer of the Void (vinyl)
Cadillac Sky: Letters in the Deep
Casiokids: Topp Stemning Pa Lokal Bar (2-LP vinyl)
Ceremony: Rohnert Park
Cheap Trick: Doctor (reissue with bonus track)
Cheap Trick: Lap of Luxury / Dream Police (reissue)
Cheap Trick: Found All the Parts/Busted (reissue with bonus tracks)
Cheap Trick: Standing on the Edge (reissue with bonus track)
Christina Aguilera: Bionic (CD with bonus tracks) (vinyl)
Circle Jerks: Wonderful (vinyl reissue)
Club 8: The People's Record (vinyl)
Cold Cave: Life Magazine Remixes EP
The Cure: Disintegration (3-CD remastered edition with bonus tracks)
Danko Jones: Below the Belt (vinyl)
Deer Tick: The Black Dirt Sessions (vinyl)
Delta Spirit: History From Below (vinyl)
The Dig: Electric Toys
The Drums: The Drums
Golden Smog: Down By the Old Mainstream (vinyl)
Grace Potter and the Nocturnals: Grace Potter and the Nocturnals
Hanson: Shout It Out
The Henry Clay People: Somewhere on the Golden Coast (vinyl)
Here We Go Magic: Pigeons (vinyl)
Hot Hot Heat: Future Breeds (vinyl)
Jewel: Sweet and Wild (2-CD edition)
Kaiser Cartel: Secret Transit
Konono No 1: Assume Crash Position
Kristin Hersh: Cats & Mice
Light Pollution: Apparitions
Linfinity: Martian's Bloom (vinyl)
Manowar: Thunder In The Sky
MF Grimm: You Only Live Twice: The Graphic Novel
Monty Python: Not The Messiah (He's A Very Naughty Boy)
Mouse Fire: Big Emotion
Nachtmystium Addicts: Black Meddles Pt. II
Nada Surf: If I Had a Hi-Fi (vinyl)
Nevermore: The Obsidian Conspiracy
Olafur Arnalds: & They Have Escaped the Weight of Darkness (vinyl)
Orianthi: Believe (II)
The Pains of Being Pure At Heart: Say No To Love b/w Lost Saint
Plies: Goon Affiliated
Pretty Maids: Pandemonium
Ratatat: LP4 (vinyl)
Ray Stevens: We the People (with DVD)
Refused: The Shape of Punk to Come (vinyl reissue with CD & DVD)
Rhymefest: El Che
Rooney: Eureka (vinyl)
Salif Keita: La Difference
Samantha Crain: You (Understood)
Saving Abel: Miss America
Silverstein: Decade: Live at El Macambo (with DVD)
Suckers: Wild Smile
Teenage Fanclub: Shadows
Tender Forever: No Snare (vinyl)
Tender Trap: Do You Want a Boyfriend? (vinyl)
Tokyo Police Club: Champ
Various Artists: 2010 Warped Tour Compilation
Various Artists: The Addams Family (cast recording)
Various Artists: Afrosound of Colombia Vol. 1
Various Artists: FELA! (soundtrack)
Various Artists: Glee: The Music - Journey to Regionals EP
Various Artists: Palenque Palenque: Champeta Criolla & Afro Roots in Colombia
Various Artists: The Twilight Saga: Eclipse Soundtrack (deluxe edition with bonus tracks and poster)
Various Artists: Twistable Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to Shel Silverstein
Viernes: Sinister Devices
Villagers: Becoming a Jackal (2-LP vinyl)
A Weather: Everyday Balloons (vinyl)
What Laura Says: Bloom Cheek
Wild Moccasins: Skin Collision Past
Wye Oak: My Neighbor / My Creator
Yo La Tengo: Here To Fall Remixes EP (vinyl)
The Young Veins: Take a Vacation (vinyl and CD)

also at Largehearted Boy:

weekly CD & DVD release lists
Try It Before You Buy It (music from this week's CD releases)