Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

April 11, 2011

This Week's Interesting Music Releases - April 12th, 2011

Panda Bear's Tomboy, along with Elbow's Build a Rocket Boys! and TV on the Radio's Nine Types of Light are the marquee indie rock releases this week.

The Feelies' Here Before and Bearsuit's The Phantom Forest, two long-awaited albums, are my favorite new releases along with Little Scream's The Golden Record.

I can also strongly recommend Cameron McGill & What Army's Is a Beast, Holy Ghost!'s self-titled album, Jason Isbell's Here We Rest, and Ponytail's Do Whatever You Want All the Time.

Vinyl reissues are plentiful this week from classic rock (Fleetwood Mac: Rumours) to early modern rock (Nick Lowe's remastered Labour of Lust) to indie rock (My Morning Jacket's Evil Urges and It Still Moves).

What new releases are you picking up this week? What can you recommend? Have I left anything noteworthy off the list?

This week's interesting CD releases:

Agnes Obel: Philharmonics
Alexander Tucker: Dorwytch
Alison Krauss: Paper Airplane
The Apache Relay: American Nomad
Art of Noise: Into Battle With the Art of Noise (remastered)
Atmosphere: The Family Sign
Autechre: EPs 1991-2002
Baby Teardrops: X Is for Love
Bass Drum of Death: GB City
Bearsuit: The Phantom Forest
Bell X1: Bloodless Coup
The Belle Brigade: The Belle Brigade [vinyl]
Black Devil Disco Club: Circus
Bob Dylan: In Concert: Brandeis University 1963
Booker T. and the M.G.'s: The Best of Booker T. and the M.G.'s (reissue) [vinyl]
The Bouncing Souls: Complete Control Sessions [vinyl]
Brett Dennen: Loverboy
Cameron McGill & What Army: Is a Beast
The Church: Starfish (30th Anniversary Reissue)
Conrad Schnitzler: Ballet Statique (reissue) [vinyl]
Crystal Stilts: In Love With Oblivion
Current 93: Honeysuckle Aeons
D. Charles Speer & The Helix: Leaving the Commonwealth
Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.: Horse Power EP / My Love Is [vinyl]
Dickie Landry: Fifteen Saxophones
Dorian Concept: Her Tears Taste Like Pears [vinyl]
Ebo Taylor: Life Stories
Elbow: Build a Rocket Boys!
Ellen Allien: Dust Remixes
The Feelies: Here Before
Femi Kuti: Africa For Africa
Fleetwood Mac: Rumours (reissue) [vinyl]
Fredrik: Flora
Freelance Whales/Foals: Split [vinyl]
Foo Fighters: Wasting Light
Foxtails Brigade: Bread & The Bait
Gable: Cute Horse
Garage a Trois: Always Be Happy, But Stay Evil
Generationals: Actor-Caster
German Measels: A German Joke is No Laughing Matter [vinyl]
Giant Sand: Center of the Universe (25th Anniversary Edition) (reissue)
Giant Sand: Long Stem Rant (25th Anniversary Edition) (reissue)
Giant Sand: Swerve (25th Anniversary Edition) (reissue)
Giant Sand: The Love Songs (25th Anniversary Edition) (reissue)
The Goldberg Sisters: The Goldberg Sisters
Grouper: Alien Observer
Grouper: Dream Loss
Guano Apes: Bel Air
Hauschka: Salon des Amateurs
Holy Ghost!: Holy Ghost!
Howe Gelb & A Band of Hypsies: Alegrias
I Was Totally Destroying It: Preludes
Indian: Guiltless
Jamaica: No Problem
James Leg: Solitary Pleasure
James Williamson: With the Careless Hearts
Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit: Here We Rest
Jeff Buckley: Grace (reissue) [vinyl]
Jeniferever: Silesia
Jeremy Jay: Dream Diary [vinyl]
Jessie J: Who You Are
Jimi Hendrix: South Saturn Delta (reissue)
Joan as Police Woman: The Deep Field
Jonny: Jonny EP
Journey: Infinity (reissue) [vinyl]
k.d. lang: Sing It Loud
LAKE: Giving & Receiving
Little Scream: The Golden Record
Low: C'mon
A Lull: Confetti
Meat Puppets: Lollipop
Miles Davis: Kind of Blue (reissue) [vinyl]
Moonlight Towers: Day Is the New Night
Mount Moriah: Mount Moriah
My Morning Jacket: Evil Urges (reissue) [vinyl]
My Morning Jacket: It Still Moves (reissue) [vinyl]
Nick Lowe: Labour of Lust (remastered) [vinyl]
Olf Calf: Borrow A Horse
The One AM Radio: Heaven Is Attached By A Slender Thread
Panda Bear: Tomboy
Paul Simon: So Beautiful or So What
Phish: Live Phish: 10/26/10 Verizon Wireless Arena, Manchester, NH
Ponytail: Do Whatever You Want All the Time
Quintron: Sucre Du Sauvage
Reading Rainbow: Cover The Sky
Red Fang: Murder the Mountains
Rhys Chatham: Outdoor Spell
Rilo Kiley: Take Offs & Landings (reissue) [vinyl]
Roomate: Guilty Rainbow [vinyl]
Sarah Jaffe: Ever Born Again
Shane MacGowan: Rakes, Rats, Pricks, & Kicks: An Anthology (remastered)
Skull Tape: The Invisible Hand and the Descent of Man
Sonny & the Sunsets: Hit After Hit
The Sounds: Something to Die For [vinyl]
Thee Spivs: Taped Up [vinyl]
Thieves Like Us: Again and Again
Thursday: No Devolucion
Title Fight: Flood of '72 [vinyl]
Trembling Bells: Constant Pageant
The Trews: Hope & Ruin
TV Ghost: Mass Dream
TV on the Radio: Nine Types of Light
Various Artists: Scream 4 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Various Artists: Win Win (soundtrack) [vinyl]
Vessels: Helioscope
Vivian Girls: Share the Joy
Washington: How to Tame Lions
Weedeater: Jason... The Dragon [vinyl]
Whiskeytown: Pneumonia (reissue) [vinyl]
Willie Nelson and Ray Price: Run That By Me One More Time (reissue)
Winter: Into Darkness (reissue)
Yip Deceiver: Yip Deceiver
Young Widows: In and Out of Youth and Lightness
Zomes: Earth Grid

also at Largehearted Boy:

weekly CD & DVD release lists
Try It Before You Buy It (music from this week's CD releases)
2010 Online "Best Of" Music Lists