Twitter Facebook Tumblr Pinterest Instagram

« older | Main Largehearted Boy Page | newer »

February 4, 2013

This Week's Interesting Music Releases - February 4, 2013

Frightened rabbit

My Bloody Valentine's long awaited successor to Loveless, m b v, was released Saturday night.

I have already heard EELS' Wonderful, Glorious, Frightened Rabbit's Pedestrian Verse, Richard Thompson's Electric, and Thao and The Get Down Stay Down's We The Common, and can heartily recommend them.

There is little doubt I will be listening to Bettie Serveert's 10th album Oh Mayhem some time after midnight tonight.

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has a new solo album, Regions of Light and Sound of God.

Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972 collects unreleased songs by Townes Van Zandt.

What new releases are you picking up this week? What can you recommend? Have I left anything noteworthy off the list?

This week's interesting music releases:

Bauhaus: In the Flat Field (remastered) [vinyl]
Bauhaus: Mask (remastered) [vinyl]
Bettie Serveert: Oh Mayhem
Bjork: Bastards
The Bronx: The Bronx (IV)
Chris Stamey: Lovesick Blues
Coheed and Cambria: The Aftermath: Descension
Darkstar: News from Nowhere
Depeche Mode: Heaven
EELS: Wonderful, Glorious
Elephant Stone: Elephant Stone
Eugene Mirman: An Evening Of Comedy In A Fake, Underground Laboratory
Frightened Rabbit: Pedestrian Verse
Funeral for a Friend: Conduit
Grouper: The Man Who Died in His Boat
Guards: In Guards We Trust
Hayden: Us Alone
Holly Williams: The Highway
Jenny O: Automechanic
Jewel: Greatest Hits
Jim James: Regions of Light and Sound of God
Josh Groban: All That Echoes
Matt Pond: The Lives Inside The Lines In Your Hand
Misfits: D.E.A.D. Alive
My Bloody Valentine: m b v
Night Beds: Country Sleep
Richard Thompson: Electric
Ron Sexsmith: Forever Endeavor
Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings (10-disc box set)
Silverstein: This Is How the Wind Shifts
The Spinto Band: Cool Cocoon
Steeldrivers: Hammer Down
Syd Barrett: Madcap Laughs (reissue)
Thao and The Get Down Stay Down: We The Common
Townes Van Zandt: Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972
Unknown Mortal Orchestra: II
Various Artists: American Noise
Various Artists: Safe Haven (soundtrack)
Wayne Shorter: Without a Net

also at Largehearted Boy:

other weekly CD & DVD release lists

2012 Online Year-end Music Lists

100 online sources for free and legal music downloads
Try It Before You Buy It (music from this week's CD releases)